While Leitrim was divided into Civil Parishes for the purposes of administration these are now largely unknown. And while not all of the county's population belonged to the Roman Catholic faith, at least we can say that they all lived within the boundaries of  Catholic Parishes.

These Catholic Parish boundaries and names are better known today and for this reason, with apologies to those who have no affiliation to the Catholic church, are used in creating the Place Index. The map below shows the outline of all of the Catholic Parishes in the county and highlights those for which there are most people, while indicating those for which there are details on a few.

Although not shown on the map, note that Bornacoola Parish contains about 15 townlands that are actually in Co Longford and people from these are also included in this collection.

As is explained in my book Tracing Your Leitrim Ancestors , Leitrim, like the rest of Ireland, is divided into different Administrative Divisions and, depending on what records are being sought, different Divisions have to be searched. The table below gives an overview of the three key divisions that the researcher will come across.

Catholic Parish Church Parish   Civil Parish Superintendent Registrar's District/Poor Law Union
Aghavas RC - Aghavas, CofI - Cloone   Cloone Mohill
Annaduff RC and CofI - Annaduff   Annaduff Carrick-on-Shannon (northern portion of parish); Mohill (southern portion of parish)
Bornaoola RC - Bornacoola; CofI - Mohill   Mohill Mohill
Cloone RC and CofI - Cloone   Cloone Mohill
Drumreilly Lower RC - Drumreilly Lower; CofI - Drumreilly   Drumreilly Bawnboy
Drumreilly Upper  RC - Drumreilly Upper; CofI - Drumreilly   Drumreilly  Bawnboy 
Fenagh RC and CofI - Fenagh   Fenagh Mohill
Gortletteragh RC - Gortletteragh, CofI - Cloone   Cloone Mohill
Kiltoghert RC and CofI - Kiltoghert   Kiltoghert Carrick-on-Shannon
Kiltubrid RC and CofI - Kiltubrid   Kiltubrid Carrick-on-Shannon
Mohill RC and CofI - Mohill   Mohill Mohill
Murhan  RC - Murhan or Drumshanbo; CofI - Kiltoghert   Kiltoghtert Carrick-on-Shannon

 The listed divisions hold through for most townlands but there are the odd strays!